Roommate wanted to share 2 BR

  • $ 725
  • Published date: 08/15/2021
    • Portland, Maine, United States
QR CODE

available sep 1






apartment
laundry in bldg
off-street parking
no private bath
private room

Available to move in mid-August or Sept. 1st.
I'm seeking one roommate to share a two bedroom apartment.
I'm a vegetarian-nearly vegan- and like to cook. I'll have a beer once in a while, but I don't drink to get drunk.
It's a non-smoking building. (I loathe the smell of cigarette smoke and marijuana.)
I am a night person but I try to be more quiet after 10pm.
I like to keep the common areas clean.
I'm a single male in my early 50s and prefer living in a quiet place. I like to meditate in the my living room.
I'm spiritual, not religious, but to each their own.
I (used to!) have friends over twice a week in the evenings to play D&D. We've been meeting for around 10 years. I use the living room in front of my bedroom as my living/meditation/game room as you can see in the photos. We tend to wind things up around 10:30pm, sometimes earlier, sometimes a bit later. (Well, this was before Covid-19. I do hope to have gaming in person again, but for now, it's all on-line.)
There are two large living room areas just in front of each of the bedrooms.
The kitchen functions well with ample counter space for food prep. We'll each have plenty of space in the cupboards too.
I'd like a roommate who naturally cleans up after themselves and does their share of cleaning. If the recyclables are full, one of us just takes it downstairs without making a fuss. I like the common areas to be kept clean and tidy. I'm not a neat-freak or anything, it's just about being respectful.
This building has it's own trash and recycling bins. No need to buy those city of Portland bags here.
The apartment is on the second floor so it's easy to use the stairs but the building does also have an elevator.
The neighbors are good about bringing packages inside to avoid theft from porch pirates.
The place is quite sunny and has hardwood floors and a full bath.
I have a quiet male cat and the lease says that only one spayed or neutered cat is allowed.
Management requires a credit check, which will cost $25 in cash. It takes about 3 days.
If approved you'd need 1st and last month's rent and a security deposit to move in, each is $725.
Again, that's first, last and security. 3x725=$2,175.
If you do not have a good credit score or if you have no credit, you would need a co-signer with a good score.
You'd have to sign onto the remainder of the lease which runs through May.
The total rent here is currently $1,450 per month. (The owner will be raising the rent 10% next year. He wanted to raise it earlier, but the Tennant's Union and the City put a stop to it.) You'd be responsible for 1/2 rent and also 1/2 utilities. (electricity and internet)
This is a Non-smoking building.
There are coin-op laundry machines in the basement. $2 each.
Heat is included.
The room is available August 1st but the move in date is flexible. I don't need someone to move in right away but fairly soon. Anyone who lives here must sign the lease. I'm not looking for a couple to move in or a month to month.
If responding to this ad, please take a moment to tell me a little bit about yourself. I like to know more about who I might be sharing space with.
I have been fully vaccinated and would expect any potential roommate to also be fully vaccinated.

Leave your comment (spam and offensive messages will be removed)

QR CODE

Useful information

  • Avoid scams by acting locally or paying with PayPal
  • Never pay with Western Union, Moneygram or other anonymous payment services
  • Don't buy or sell outside of your country. Don't accept cashier cheques from outside your country
  • This site is never involved in any transaction, and does not handle payments, shipping, guarantee transactions, provide escrow services, or offer "buyer protection" or "seller certification"

Related listings